Jameis Winston Takes the Heisman Trophy

The Heisman Trophy is  awarded to the most outstanding college football player in the United States.  The Trophy, now in its 79th year,  is named after John W. Heisman.

Heisman was a player and coach. In his coaching career, Heisman changed the face of the game by contributing the forward pass, which was legalized in 1906.  In fact, most of the official rule book at that time had adopted Heisman’s suggestions word for word.

Last night, in the Big Apple, Jameis Winston was added to the list of outstanding players in college football history.   Winston, who is only the second redshirt freshman to win the Heisman (Johnny Manziel was the first last year), led the Florida State Seminoles to an undefeated season (13-0).

“I cannot explain the feeling that I have inside right now,” Winston said. “I’m so overwhelmed. It’s awesome.”  You can see his full acceptance speech here.


Winston recorded 3,820 passing yards and 38 passing touchdowns this season.  He is only 19, which also makes him the youngest player to ever take the honor.  He joins fellow FSU alums Charlie Ward and Chris Weinke as Heisman winners.  His post ceremony interview is below.

The Seminoles will take on the Auburn Tigers in the BCS National Championship on January 6th (8:30PM EST on ESPN) at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena.  This day also marks Winston’s 20th birthday.  Wouldn’t that be the perfect bday present?!

More from TheSportsBrat™

“Long Horn Dip” by Sam Steele Ponder

Food is an integral part of the sports day and a fool-proof...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *