College Football Awards 2013

The College Football Awards were held last night in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.  For those of you who have no idea what these are, well let us explain.  Each year, at the end of the season, a large awards ceremony is held and annual awards are handed out to the best of the best.  Here is a recap of who took home some hardware (that’s code for trophy ladies).

The Chuck Bendarik Award is given to the nation’s best defensive player.  This year Aaron Donald from Pittsburgh was the recipient.

College Football Awards.JPEG-0dd8a

The Rimington Award, given to the nation’s most outstanding collegiate center.  Florida State center Bryan Stork won.


The Ray Guy Award is given to the nation’s best punter and this year Memphis punter Tom Hornsey took home the award.

College Football Awards.JPEG-0b341

The Outland Trophy is given to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman.  Aaron Donald took home that trophy as well.


The Davey O’Brien Award is given to the nation’s best quarterback and Jameis Winston, out of Florida State, added this to his shelf.


The Jim Thorpe Award was given to Michigan State cornerback Darqueze Dennard for being the nation’s best defensive back.

College Football Awards.JPEG-0bd58

The Lou Groza Award, given to the nation’s best kicker, was awarded to Roberto Aguayo from Florida State.

Roberto Aguayo

The Biletnikoff Award is given to the nation’s best wide receiver and this year it went home with Oregon State wide receiver Brandin Cooks.


The Doak Walker Award is given to the nation’s best running back and Andre Williams, from Boston College, was this year’s recipient.


Andre Williams

The Maxwell Award was given to AJ McCarron from Alabama for being football’s best player of the year.

AJ McCarron

The Walter Camp Player of the Year Award is given to Jameis Winston for being the best player this season.


Well there you have it, you are now caught up on this year’s college football awards.  Now make sure you tune in for the big guy, the 79th Heisman Memorial Trophy awards this Saturday at 8PM EST on ESPN. This year’s finalists are QB Jameis Winston (Florida State), QB Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois), QB Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), running back Tre Mason (Auburn), QB AJ McCarron (Alabama) and running back Andre Williams (Boston College).  Don’t worry ladies, if you happen to miss the show you can check The Sports Brat Monday; we’ll have a full recap!!


More from TheSportsBrat™

Baseball + Kale = SF Giants

Last weekend I had the great pleasure of touring AT&T Park…AKA Home...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *